I love eerie music

After a good chat with a co-worker today on themed music, I found myself listening to some random tunes tonight. Something I haven’t done in a while, actually.

I was digging through my collection for a good couple of hours. And, from what I’ve gathered, it seems like not much has changed with me after all these years.  I mean, I’m still drawn, mostly, to the foreboding sounds of gloom. The melodic variety, I should say. Having grown up on the Beatles and Sabbath, it’s just natural for me to be lured into this path, I guess. Although, I love a good, loud and obnoxious headbanger, there’s something about a dark, gothic sound of a harpsichord plucking its way into your trembling soul. When I was growing up, I used to play our very old piano (my brother keeps it now) which sported two candelabras. I made good use of those in the middle of the night as I played Steven, by Alice Cooper. I might’ve spooked the neighbors a little. I don’t know. But if you’re familiar with the song, you know what I’m talking about. If not, just think Lizzie Borden with axe, to get the picture.

I know, it’s probably not such a good time to talk about all this, being Christmastime and all. Which reminds me, “Silent Night, Bloody Night” is on tomorrow. I better write that down. Hold on…

Now, talk about eerie! Have you ever heard Silent Night, played in a minor key? Imagine it and see if you don’t get goosebumps.

Anyhow, where was I? Oh, I just wanted to share this video of a song that I really like. It’s one of those that the pious will shy away from lest their holy flesh catches fire. 🙂 I was trying to find one of NIN’s Right Where it Belongs, but all of them are crappy. Too bad. I like the way the piano blends with the buzzsaw distortion of the synth in that song. Excellently disturbing, I would say! So anyway, I’m putting this one down of Marilyn Manson called Godeatgod, instead. This is pretty brutal, beware. For the record, I don’t share his views AT ALL. But he’s a person merely asking questions… and that, I can understand. And his music hits the spot, too.

Now, if you’re easily offended in a religious kind of way, or if you just got done listening to Deck the Halls right now, you might want to pass. Seriously.

Otherwise… buckle up and enjoy. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.